Survival Horror Recommendations

Tis the season to be spooky and I was looking for some recommendations from the survival horror genre. I’m fairly new to horror in general but specifically I’ve been looking into survival horror games recently.

Games I’ve played:

• the Last of Us Part I + Part II (favorites)
  • P.T. (didn’t complete. too scary. but wow.)
  • Visage (graphics were great but didn’t like this one. my review.)
3 Likes

The original SNES Clocktower!

Oh, and I don’t know if it counts, but Decarnation is a newer game and kind of survival horror but it’s a cool experience.

4 Likes

I just looked up Clock Tower and it appears it’s getting ported to modern platforms! I guess I’ll be waiting for the enhanced version in 2024. Already loving the spooky atmosphere and art style.

3 Likes

I’ve heard good things about The Forrest, but I haven’t personally had a chance to play it yet.

1 Like

Yeah I just saw that today too! The original is very good though, not sure it can be “improved” much without hurting it. But, access is an issue so having it on modern consoles is nice. I do NOT recommended the PS1 version, the shitty 3D ruins it.

1 Like

I wasn’t able to look up Decarnation until now but I am getting heavy Perfect Blue vibes from it. The bobbleheaded characters are kinda uggo but the rest of it looks very interesting. I haven’t heard or seen anything about this game but it’s mostly positive on Steam, so that’s being added to the list.

@BMO My friends have been playing the Forest and Sons of Forest. I haven’t decided if I want to try the first game on my own first or with them. Sometimes instead of playing, they end up waiting around forever for everybody to be ready and it can be a slog. I’d also feel guilty if I had them all install the game for me to try it, and then be like “nah. this ain’t for me.” :sweat_smile:

2 Likes