Video Games and Literature

Hey all,

I’ve been thinking lately about the types of stories that video games tell. Back in college, I studied literature because I loved the stories in the RPGs I played as a teenager, but the more I read, the less I found in literature that was similar to these stories. There were books from games (especially the series of books from the Myst games), and there was stuff like Lord of the Rings which were similar, but such books were few and far between. Part of me wonders if video games just have a particular way of telling stories, because they have visuals and music/sounds, as well as direct interaction, that print books don’t have. But I’m not sure.

Is this search just mine, or do others feel the same? I’m particular to JRPGs, but I’ve heard people who like other story-focused games say similar things. Or, rather simply, anyone read a good book lately?

1 Like

Nope, I feel ya. There is definitely something special to your experience when playing video games, it’s different than reading a book in many ways, as you mentioned. I haven’t read a book I’m really interested for a while, whereas I constantly stumble upon games that immediately grab my attention, I know at first glance what I’m gonna love them and I actually do. I’ve never been disappointed with a game’s story. Well yeah my judgment is absolutely not balanced and totally biased towards video games because I play a lot more than do reading, so I’d love to see what others think of this.