Emulation... thoughts?

I have been a big hobbyist of video gaming for as long as I can remember and as I get older, and systems age and get discarded by the industry and a good deal of players I am assuming, I have found emulation to be a huge asset in my being able to enjoy games that are hard to come by or impossible without a huge wallet or dedication to finding them in general.

I am looking at the concept of emulation of course through my ability to enjoy such games, but also through the ability to archive the games as well, as I feel that gaming has become a very profitable industry but also one that is severely lacking in archival and the importance of maintaining the products in a form that can be enjoyed as compared to other mediums.

6 Likes

The reality is that emulation is the only way we’ll be able to preserve a hell of a lot of games. So while I’m also for the preservation of game hardware, I think emulation is a perfectly acceptable way to allow for access to archived games.

6 Likes

There’s nothing wrong with the concept of emulation. If you play Nintendo Switch Online’s NES app, hook up Sega’s Genesis Mini to your TV, buy most point-and-click adventures off GOG, download a PlayStation 2 classic on your PlayStation 4 , pop Rare Replay into your Xbox One, or (insert your own example here), then you’re playing an emulated game. Games before the PS3/360/Wii era that are faithfully rebuilt from the ground up (like Christian Whitehead’s mobile Sonic ports) or remade entirely (Final Fantasy VII remake) are in the minority: It’s usually far more cost-effective for companies to build, commission or license an emulator.

(Incidentally, the story of emulation’s adoption by the mainstream is fascinating. Gaming Historian has an episode called From Shady to Legal that goes into some of that.)

There’s also no moral issue I can see with using an emulator that doesn’t infringe on the original manufacturer’s copyrights with backups of games you legally own.