Sega Megadrive and Where To Start

Hihi! Wanted to start some conversation :wave:t4:
I’m taking some time to investigate them pesky sega systems. I’m not very experienced in that area. Currently trying out Beggar Prince, a peculiar Taiwanese title from C&E to get my feet wet, but otherwise I don’t know where to go. I’m partial to RPG’s and anything peculiar, and I’m not very good with platformers. Games don’t have to be in English if it’s playable without too much reading. Oh, and if there are translation guides availible (as with Wachenroder), then that works as well. I want to see the cream of the crop but also some overlooked gems as well. As long as it’s interesting!

Also, I’m going for Saturn games as well. The only ones I’ve tried are Sakura Taisen and D (oh, D…). I picked up Shining the Holy Ark because it looks quite promising.

My goal is to get to know these systems better and learn to love them. I admittedly had a hard time enjoying the Sega Master System, and while I was doubting the Dreamcast, I did manage to find some gems that made it all worthwhile.

Thank you ahead of time, I want to learn more about this library. :v:t4:

1 Like

We always had the Nintendo systems…given the chance, I might try TMNT: Hyperstone Heist, as I’ve played every other Turtles game I could

I might try Garfield: Caught in the Act, as I did play the Game Gear version

I like Ristar, which I also played on Game Gear and eventually got to try the Genesis version years later [on Gamecube, Switch, etc.]

1 Like

The Genesis/Megadrive had plenty of great games. Some of the titles that best-defined the 16-bit console were:

• Sonic the Hedgehog series (platformer)
  • Other platformers such as Aladdin, Ecco the Dolphin, Ristar, Castle of Illusion Starring Mickey Mouse, and Earthworm Jim
  • Streets of Rage series (beat-em-up)
  • Golden Axe series (beat-em-up)
  • Shinobi series (action platformer)
  • Gunstar Heroes (run 'n gun)
  • Toejam and Earl (rougelike)