Games for Non-Gamers: Low Dexterity Recommendations

I’d like to collect and share a list of recommended games I’ve put together that require little to no real time or mechanically complicated interactions while still being a good time.

When I see people trying to get non-gamers into my favorite hobby, I see a lot of overly ambitious suggestions that will likely turn complete beginners off. Games like Portal that are fun and narratively charming, but require dual stick controls, 3D spatial awareness and real time physics based platforming. Or players may give something like Mario which while cognitively straight forward, still requires quick reflexes and timing which can be hard for older folks or people with physical disabilities. New players or older gamers often feel overwhelmed because of difficulty adapting to controls or having to perform real time actions. So this list is for the noobies with performance anxiety who just want to be able to play something engaging at their own pace, and how you can get some friends to try

Rules: These games should be at about a 1/5 or 2/5 on the dexterity complexity rating. I define those as:

• ★☆☆☆☆- This game is not played out in real time at all, no timers are present so players can select their actions at their own pace
  • ★★☆☆☆- This game may require character placement to perform certain actions, or may require some real time based activities, however overall the game allows players to make decisions at a more leisurely pace and does not require too many complex finger movements

This list is my recommendations, but please post below your suggestions and a little bit about what makes your game fun so I can keep this list growing.

(I acknowledge that almost any turn based RPG could fit this list, so I’m focusing more on diversity of experiences rather than being encyclopedic)